Street foods in Kaohsiung, Taiwan

20121019-130357.jpg

Just two streets away from the hotel, you can go to this street for street foods– exotic or so, noodles and fruits.

On a recent business trip to Taiwan, I went to a night market near our hotel to just catch a glimpse of the street life.  I checked in at the Han-Shien International Hotel located in Kaohsiung City after a railway trip from Taiwan.

20121019-130245.jpg

Going around the area is safe because the crime situation in this area and the rest of Taiwan is relatively low.

Its not much of a busy area but there are locals — usually riding bicycles and motorcycles — who troop there to get a bowl of noodles for a snack or late supper.

20121019-125747.jpg

Exotic? Dare taste some of these food at the street market.

There is just one stall selling these exotic foods which include chicken feet, gizzard (possibly of duck or turkey), intestines, other parts of poultry and pork or beef.

20121019-130024.jpg

Looks bigger than chicken. Must be duck or turkey wings and gizzards.

20121019-130058.jpg

Feel free to identify them. Liver, intestines and more.

20121019-130136.jpg

Kikiam, it seems.

20121019-130712.jpg

I’d prefer “manicured” chicken feet. No, not these please.

For $NT 80, I paid for a combination of these which looked presentable when I placed in small plates in hotel.

20121019-131023.jpg

Appetizers anyone? Thanks, but no thanks. Just ordered hotel food for my dinner.

there are also some fruit stands…

20121019-131350.jpg

About tinamen

I am news reporter, trying to veer away from the daily grind of news. I am trying to make good of the experiences and opportunities that life bring me, and enjoy them. I will try to share in this blog some of my travels, hobbies, and the daily lessons that life would bring. I don't intend to brag, I intend to amuse, inform and touch your lives in my own little way.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

