Do you know what is in your hot pot?

So I’ve featured shabu-shabu or hot pot restaurants in my previous blogs…

Did you not even wonder how these processed foods are manufactured before they reach your hot pot?

I must admit I did not know that the “fresh” pork or shrimp balls I order on the menu in Manila may have come all the way from a factory in China or in this case– Taiwan.

In my recent visit to Kaoshiung in Taiwan upon invitation of Taiwan External Trade (TAITRA), I had the opportunity to visit a frozen food factory, Shin Ho Sing Ocean Enterprise Co., Ltd.

20121018-115843.jpg

The firm is popular under the brand name, “Jane Jane”, which is named after a popular Taiwan actress.

An executive said they export to Europe, United States and Canada. They deal with the western market because the Taiwan made products– sold quite high in Asia– can compete in terms of price and quality.

My group which included a TV crew and two journalists from Indonesia had a tour of the frozen food factory.

To ensure cleanliness and quality, we were asked to wear lab gowns etc.

20121018-120849.jpg

20121018-120936.jpg

Site inspection, quality control- checked!

Xx”

20121018-121201.jpg

More balls.

About tinamen

I am news reporter, trying to veer away from the daily grind of news. I am trying to make good of the experiences and opportunities that life bring me, and enjoy them. I will try to share in this blog some of my travels, hobbies, and the daily lessons that life would bring. I don't intend to brag, I intend to amuse, inform and touch your lives in my own little way.
This entry was posted in Abroad, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you know what is in your hot pot?

  1. Ica says:

    wow.. it’s good to know how they process this kind of food! amazing.

    cdo adventures

Leave a Reply

