Ventusa Massage at Nuovo Spa

I am fond of body massages and foot spas.  The best I can remember is the foot massage I had during my trip to Bangkok a few years ago.  Many massage parlors have sprouted in Manila since then and I have been going for body and foot massage parlors to relax and also to compare their services.

chillax

Only this Monday, I went to Nuovo Spa in Torre Venezia Suites in Timog Avenue, Quezon City to try their ventusa massage.  Torre Venezia is located at the corner of Timog Avenue and Scout Santiago, just across the St. Paul Church and a few blocks away from another spa center — Wensha– which I think is more commercialized than Nuovo Spa.

Wensha caters more for a bigger market because it has its own jacuzzi and cold pools. It is also a must-go for those who want to indulge in “eat-all-you-can” food tripping.

Located  in the seventh floor, the Nuovo Spa exudes that “Bangkok” ambiance.

Big doors welcome guests

The soft music is pleasing to my ears. The oil is aromatic, it relaxes my senses. Although many spa parlors try to copy Bangkok interior design, most of the time it is the massage style/service that matters the most.

Unlike in other spa parlors, the Nuovo staff were accommodating but not talkative (I actually don’t like it when my massager talks to me about her own life which defeats my purpose of going for a massage — to relieve stress).

Ventusa

What makes this massage rather unique for me is that this one excels in hard massage. Before the massage that lasts about 60 minutes, hot glasses are placed on your back for 15 minutes to get “cold” off your body.  

It is my second time to get a ventusa massage.   The other one I had done in a clinic of a Chinese doctor who specializes in alternative medicine.

I am told that it is the Filipino version of the ancient Chinese cupping therapy to relax muscles, draw out toxins and help in the flow of flood in the body. 

About tinamen

I am news reporter, trying to veer away from the daily grind of news. I am trying to make good of the experiences and opportunities that life bring me, and enjoy them. I will try to share in this blog some of my travels, hobbies, and the daily lessons that life would bring. I don't intend to brag, I intend to amuse, inform and touch your lives in my own little way.
This entry was posted in Relaxation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ventusa Massage at Nuovo Spa

  1. I envy you! I want to try this one kaso its far… 😦

  2. tinamen says:

    I got to know this through groupon — just like cash2 pinoy. am sure u’ll find one near your place or maybe somewhere in makati. 🙂

  3. burrito says:

    hi, is there a steam room or sauna in nuovo spa? thanks!

  4. burrito says:

    thanks! there’s another deal at beeconomic. will definitely get it now! 🙂

  5. maureen says:

    How much is ventosa?

Leave a Reply

