Trip to Quiapo

Wonder where you can get quality eye glasses for a cheaper price here in Manila?

Try scouting optical shops lined up along Paterno Street in Quaipo, Manila where you can get a new pair of glasses for at least P 800. This includes as computerized eye-check up, followed by the manual checking for your eye grade.

Branded eyeglasses fetch as low as P 1,500 a pair. There are even glasses for athletes.

author's pair of eyeglasses from Standard Optical in Quiapo

If you merely want to change the lenses, then you are charged at least P 350 to P 400, depending on your eye grade.

There are other streets in Quiapo which you may find interesting.  The Minor Basilica of the Black Nazarene and the historic Plaza Miranda are just two of the interesting places to visit in Quiapo.

The church is home to the 17th century life-sized image of the Black Nazarene. Many devotees flock to the Black Nazarene especially during its feast on January. Many devotees claim to have experienced the miracles, healings and answered prayers of the Lord of the Black Nazarene.

At Hidalgo Street, you can find an array of stores selling old cameras, and new ones at a discounted price compared to department stores and commercial areas in Metro Manila.

Another street caters to sound and lights equipment. You can even buy your own videoke machine here for a few thousands of pesos.

Street hawkers line up the streets peddling vegetables, housewares, ready-to-wear clothes, toys and more.

Quiapo is also home to the first ever branch of the Shoemart in Sta. Cruz, where you can get shoes, clothes and other items at bargain prices. In the side streets, one can have souvenir photos, graduation and wedding photos or maybe diplomas framed also at cheap prices.

Quiapo is a bargain for good merchandise ranging from cameras, speakers, voice recorders to eye glasses (even contact lens), photo frames etc.

How to go to Quiapo:

For Gateway or Araneta Center in Cubao, Quezon City, one can take the LRT 2 line that transverses from Santolan station in Marcos Highway to Recto (Manila). The fare is about P 14/one way from Cubao to Recto station.

Upon reaching station, take a shortcut to Odeon Mall which is at the other end of the LRT2. Ride a jeepney to Sta. Cruz, tell the driver that you will get down in Quiapo area. Take note that the Quiapo is just a few meters away from the LRT-Recto station.

About tinamen

I am news reporter, trying to veer away from the daily grind of news. I am trying to make good of the experiences and opportunities that life bring me, and enjoy them. I will try to share in this blog some of my travels, hobbies, and the daily lessons that life would bring. I don't intend to brag, I intend to amuse, inform and touch your lives in my own little way.
This entry was posted in Consumer Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Trip to Quiapo

  1. dorothy says:

    Hi,

    Pwede rin ba magpacustomize ng frames dun? 🙂

  2. Elise says:

    Could you recommend any optical shops there that offers affordable eyeglasses?

    • tinamen says:

      I go to Standard Optical at 648 P. Paterno Street in Quaipo. There are many other optical shops in this street. You can canvass from one to another until you finally get what you want. 🙂

  3. sharon says:

    how much po kaya kung around 1000 na po ang grade ng mata??

    • tinamen says:

      Hi sharon, you can try calling Standard Optical at 733-3765 and ask for the price. Yung glasses ko for astigmatism lang eh. Cost really depends on the brand, and eye grade. But definitely, its cheaper at Paterno compared to optical shops in the malls. Standard also offers computerized eye check-up.

  4. Vi =) says:

    Hi! I scored my eyewear at Standard Optical and really got a huge discount! Thanks a bunch!

  5. myrna lace says:

    gud day like me lang po mag ask kung magkano ang price for graded eyes 500 and 600/.

  6. cha says:

    hi, I went to Standard Optical yesterday. I did my research and considered yours.
    I went there and found the frame I liked (they sell replica and judging from the price its obvious and I don’t mind). doon narin ako nagpa check. and yes I saw the female chinese owner who is an opto. Pero i think assistant nya un nag check sa kin- parang hindi sya opto kc wala syang copy ng diploma or prc on the wall. plus hindi sila nag susukat ng measurements.
    I paid in full and asked them to ship it for me. so I paid addt’l 140php for the delivery. Unfortunately, I called them up today and the sales lady (who was very entertaintaining yesterday) just gave me a jrs tracking number. nagtataka ako is that, hindi niya masabi sa akin kailan nag pick up from their shop.
    I got mine at 2,800 + 140 shipping. Its a Spyder frame with multi coated lens for astigmatism.
    oh well there goes cheapness. siguro next time sa ibang shop ako sa paterno.
    if not babalik ako sa Success vision in greenhills. pleasant kausap ang mga opto nila and very professional. they also text me pag ready na ang glasses ko. bought an authentic fury frame for 5k with lens and so far its been holding up and lens lang ang pinapalitan. thanks anyway.

  7. Jessica says:

    HI guys I went to paterno st yesterday I went to RSA optical, its in paterno st katapat ng Cebuana Lhuillier. I got my eyeglasses at really cheap price I got a package deal for a tranisition lens with a quailty frame for like 2000 pesos I was like WOW. When i got my eyeglasses it was really transition, liked it really goes dark in the sunlight. It was quite amazing na meron n ganun for only 2000 pesos at may ksama na syang quality frame. Their service was really good and they have so many selection for frames. I suggest you guys go there to get your eyeglasses. The staff and owner were very professional and punctual. They told me to come back after 1 hr to claim my eyeglass and they delivered.

  8. James says:

    hi Guys,
    I also went to paterno st last sunday i looked around the area for the cheapest pair of eyeglasses including a quality frame and multicoated lens. I went to standard optical 1st they were charging me around 1500 and I wasnt happy with their selection so i looked around the are and I was able to find a shop called RSA optical its in paterno st, katapat ng cebuana lhuillier pawnshop. I was able to get it at 1200 includes a mulitcoated lens and a quality frame. They have such a large selection of frames its almost impossible to choose just 1, I was so tempted to buy 3 but i didnt have the money lol. Their service is top class as in they will explain to you the advantages of their product and help you decide and which product is best suited to you. I suggest you guys give them a go

Leave a Reply

