My Volks Beetle

The Bug

My very first car was a 1969 Volkswagen Beetle, which my dad gave me as a gift more than a decade ago.  It was affordable, small and cute.  It’s an antique.  Its 1500 cc engine can manage to climb steep roads.

My barkada and I used to ride in it on the way to the long roads of Montalban, Rizal…It was my service when I went around my beat at the northern part of Metro Manila.  

I drove it on EDSA during weekends, when traffic was less complicated than it is today. It was air-cool.  The engine was on the back, not in the front as modern cars do.  

Today, the Beetle is actually 42-years old, with its engine still intact and running.  I dreamed of having it restored but due to lack of expertise, time and budget, it remained in our front porch for years.  From red, the paint was changed to silver/gray. I wanted it painted bright yellow, have it topped down… but I had no time.

I learned to drive in this very car — shifting gears manually with its unique way of “reverse” gear car.   

I loved my Volks! But I had asked my dad to sell it to “de-clutter” our garage.  I thought, somebody else gotta take care of my first babe… before rust and dirt get to the better of it…

About tinamen

I am news reporter, trying to veer away from the daily grind of news. I am trying to make good of the experiences and opportunities that life bring me, and enjoy them. I will try to share in this blog some of my travels, hobbies, and the daily lessons that life would bring. I don't intend to brag, I intend to amuse, inform and touch your lives in my own little way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Volks Beetle

  1. Pingback: Do you like antiques II. « Ralphie´s Portal

  2. Pingback: Die Wurzeln des Volkes – Lonesome George – einsamer Georg | The Northern Face

Leave a Reply

